Skip to content

I kind of agree with Brett Easton Ellis

September 24, 2012

 

When somebody calls gay people “disgusting” and says that “most of them probably have AIDS,” the natural human reaction is to agree with them.

Over the weekend, the controversial writer sent a controversial pair of controversial tweets: “I kind of agree with Paris Hilton,” followed by “As someone who has used Grindr? Paris Hilton isn’t that far off.”

But this isn’t the first time Ellis has antagonized the gay community on Twitter.  In August, he provoked a hugely negative response after declaring that openly gay Matt Bomer couldn’t convincingly play the straight male lead of Fifty Shades of Grey. And in 2010, during the height of Dan Savage’s “It Gets Better” project, Ellis dismissed the campaign with another flippant tweet: “Not to bum everyone out, but can we get a reality check here? It gets worse.”

Perhaps the Less Than Zero author thinks his own sexuality gives him leeway to make comments like this, although he’s been notoriously cagey about his orientation: “I’ve played around with my persona in terms of its sexuality, and I’ve made various comments over the years that I’m straight, I’m bi, I’m gay, I’m whatever you want me to be,” he explained in 2002. “And you know what? To me that’s the most honest answer.”

Nevertheless, Ellis should reconsider his defense of Paris Hilton’s comments — especially since Hilton herself apparently doesn’t agree with them. “I am so sorry and so upset that I caused pain to my gay friends, fans and their families with the comments heard this morning,” she said in an apologetic statement Friday. “I am so sorry from the bottom of my heart and I feel absolutely horrible.”

Why are people so touchy, hormonal and sensitive?  All he did was express how he feels.  He’s allowed to do that even if you don’t agree.  I don’t find anything he’s said offensive and welcome it.  The only statement he said that I don’t agree with was the Dharun Ravi case.  It was not a witch hunt and if it was then that witch hunt needs to happen with anyone who attempts or succeeds at doing what Ravi did.  Don’t paint Ravi to be the victim.  And as for Paris Hilton, never liked her, until she made that alleged Grindr statement.  Everyone on that thing is the bottom of the barrel and socially inept.  Sorry.  The Paris Hilton comment was allegedly spliced to sound as if she was condemning all gays.  No.  Just the ones on Grindr.  I agree!  But they can have each other on that thing.  It’s all they’re going to get anyway.

 

Comments are closed.

